One Month

April 2, 2007 at 2:27 pm 3 comments

Yesterday was April 1, 2007.

In one month it will be May 1, the 25th Anniversary of the grand opening of the 1982 World’s Fair here in Knoxville, TN.

What is Knoxville planning to commemorate this silver anniversary of arguably the biggest, most important event to happen to this city?

As far as I can tell, nothing.

If anyone has heard of anything – anything at all – being done to honor or remember this date and occasion, please let me know and I’ll publicize it here.

Otherwise I guess we’ll all just have to celebrate quietly at home with friends….

Entry filed under: Remembering the World's Fair.

Brother, Can You Spare $200,000? At Last, Some Media Attention

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Betty-Lou Waters  |  April 9, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    I’m self-publishing a romance novel entitled World’s Fair Fantasy which I wrote in Knowxville in May of 1982. I’m looking for distributors in the Knoxville area. I’ll be bringing the books down the last week in April. I’ll be contacting some of the bookstores, but I had originally hoped I could take advantage of the some of the 25 anniversary events which now appear NOT to be happening. I’d attach a picture of the book cover and info from the back, but that doesn’t seem to be an option. Anyone who wants more info — even an Email of Chapter One — can request it by Emailing bwaters@wvutech.edu

    Reply
  • 2. lasthome  |  April 10, 2007 at 8:59 am

    Yes, it’s now the 10th and still nothing. I don’t expect anything but a small piece in the newspaper at this point.

    Such a wasted opportunity.

    Reply
  • 3. Betty-Lou Waters  |  June 22, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    People looking for copies of my “World’s Fair Fantasy” should check their local independent bookstores. Carpe Librum took a couple copies when I visited in May, and Crafter’s Mall took over a dozen. Copies sell for $9.95.

    I understand one of the papers wrote a review, but I haven’t seen it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Remember the Date

The 25th Anniversary of the 1982 World's Fair is on May 1, 2007. Mark your calendars!

Email Me

lasthome (at) gmail . com

Feeds

Archives

Folks through the Turnstiles:

  • 23,073 visitors

Top Clicks

  • None

