Brother, Can You Spare $200,000?

January 3, 2007 at 12:40 pm

Former US Rep. Kenneth Gray of Illinois bought the World’s Fair Energy Express train years ago and is now selling it on Ebay:

 
 

After the Knoxville International Energy Exhibition closed, Gray spent more than $150,000 on the Chinese, Egyptian and Philippines pavilions, the Federal Express theater, the front gate and the fair’s $375,000 train, the Energy Express.

..

But Gray, now 82, recently suffered a stroke. Now he can’t see himself driving the train to town for any more holiday displays. So he is selling it.

Interestingly, Rep. Gray left a comment on a recent post offering to sell me the train at what he says was his cost of $50,100:

I was there in 1982 at the World’s Fair and was do enthralledwith the World’s Fair Energy Express Train that I bought it at the end of the Fair along with some of the buildings.
I have had the train stored for all of these years with the exception of loaning it to our park during Christmas for the light expo.
I bought the train for $50,100.00 and will be wiilling to sell it back to you at no profit. if you are interested, call me at…

There is a phone number after that point, but I never called it – nor is there an email address attached the the name so I have no way of knowing if this was really him or not. But since it was commented weeks before this article, I have no reason to think anyone would hoax it or even know about it.

Well, if someone buys it for close to the asking price of $200,000 on Ebay, I’ll kick myself for passing up a $149,900 profit…

On another note, it says he also bought the Federal Express Pavilion at the same time he bought the train. I’d love to set that baby up in my back yard.

1982-24.jpg

I wonder if it still has the movie(s) that ran in it? I must have watched those shows 100 times during the run of the fair – it was far and away my favorite pavilion during the fair. The music and images were memorable – I still remember some of the words to the songs, and for 1982 the laser shows (inside and outside) were spectacular. What I wouldn’t give to have a copy of that show on DVD….

*sigh*

Entry filed under: General, Remembering the World's Fair.

For The Cause One Month


Remember the Date

The 25th Anniversary of the 1982 World's Fair is on May 1, 2007. Mark your calendars!

Email Me

lasthome (at) gmail . com

Feeds

Archives

Folks through the Turnstiles:

  • 23,131 visitors

Top Clicks

  • None

