Fresh Fruit Works

May 2, 2007 at 3:57 pm 3 comments

MAY 2

One of my best friends was named Tim. He was a year older than me and, lucky dog, was able to get a job working at the fair and be there all the time. When you first walked in the Henley Street entrance, two smells assaulted your senses (don’t worry, they were good). The first was the Buddys Bar-b-cue kiosk, which was a new dining experience to many non-East Tennessee’ers. The other was the Fresh Fruit Works sponsored by Big Brothers Association and I believe Krogers.

Tim’s mom was divorced when he was small, so he’d had a Big Brother named Allen for many years. Through that association, Tim was able to work in the fruit stand. I recall many, many times opening my day at the fair at that stand. Nice, cold fruit – perfect for a hot summer’s day.

Just above the two stands was a giant neon mural – if anyone has a better photo I’d love to place it. You can see part of it in the photo below, along with my 14-yr-old self and my younger brother:

My brother and I outside the Kroger Fruit Stand

The little brother gets married in less than a month. Finally :)

Entry filed under: Remembering the World's Fair. Tags: .

Twenty Five Years First Impressions

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrew McCulloch  |  May 14, 2007 at 9:21 am

    Wow! I worked there! I wish I could say I remebered someone named Tim but I don’t. A picture might help. I too remember the neon mural on the wall.
    There was also a Filipino (sp) barbecue joint at the end (to the left) of the row in the above picture and in the evenings we used to trade our leftover fresh fruit to them for their leftover Filipino food. What an experience! The man in the Sunsphere would start playing the organ at 8:00PM or so and the sound would blare right into the front of the store so badly you almost needed earplugs. Once the “Energy Train” came by you knew quitting time was not far away.

    I wish I had more souvenirs of the fair but I do still have my red and white striped apron from the Fresh Fruit Works.

    Thanx for the memories!!!
    DMac

    Reply
  • 2. Barry  |  May 14, 2007 at 10:11 am

    DMac – contact me via email and I’ll give you Tim’s last name.

    lasthome@gmail.com

    Reply
  • 3. Gregory  |  March 14, 2014 at 3:05 am

    Here is a photo that includes the mural from across the Waters of the World.

    Knoxville Worlds Fair

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Remember the Date

The 25th Anniversary of the 1982 World's Fair is on May 1, 2007. Mark your calendars!

Email Me

lasthome (at) gmail . com

Feeds

Archives

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Gregory on Fresh Fruit Works
jotirazop on Red Skelton
Barry Wallace on Happy 26th Anniversary!
modofo on Happy 26th Anniversary!
lena de matos on When We Were There – Par…

Folks through the Turnstiles:

  • 21,488 visitors

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

