Twenty Five Years

May 1, 2007 at 11:29 am 2 comments

MAY 1

The best summer of my life started this day in 1982.

Thank you, everyone who participated in the 1982 World’s Fair, for a lifetime of memories.

MAY 1: I was one of the scads of high school marching band kids in the great mass band that played in front of President Reagan and all the dignitaries.  I stood fairly close to him in my formation.  All I remember specifically is being amazed that the temperature was in the 70′s!!!!   In May!!!!   Now the 80′s are not uncommon in April.   So much for energy conservation.

My parents bought us season passes and I still have mine.  In total I believe I visited about 45 times over the course of the summer of ’82, the summer between my sophomore and junior years at Central High School.   I’d wanted to find a job there, but was just barely too young.   Teri, the mom of one of my friends, worked in one of the offices and tried to find me something but 14 didn’t make the cut.

I’m sure I stayed all day that first day.  The first day of many, many to come exploring such things a 14-yr-old could only dream of.

Entry filed under: Remembering the World's Fair. Tags: .

One More Day Fresh Fruit Works

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pat Dale  |  July 5, 2007 at 12:14 am

    Our family of 5 attended the fair in 1982, we are from Ohio.
    We had our camper in Pigeon Forge for a family reunion and drove on over to Knoxville 3 different days. It was the most amazing thing we had ever seen and very educational. The lazer show was out of sight, the kids were 7, 9 and 14 at the time and they had a great time. We have also returned to your beautiful state many times since and plan to visit more. I hope there is another Worlds Fair in the USA sometime soon.

    Reply
  • 2. Michael Tim  |  February 28, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Remember the Date

The 25th Anniversary of the 1982 World's Fair is on May 1, 2007. Mark your calendars!

Email Me

lasthome (at) gmail . com

Feeds

Archives

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Gregory on Fresh Fruit Works
jotirazop on Red Skelton
Barry Wallace on Happy 26th Anniversary!
modofo on Happy 26th Anniversary!
lena de matos on When We Were There – Par…

Folks through the Turnstiles:

  • 21,639 visitors

Top Clicks

  • None

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

